Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been writing our ‘Love Story’ and haven’t quite gotten it ready to post it. It’s pretty sweet and smushy, so stay tuned for that. In the meantime I’m posting a quick tutorial on how to reinstall your rear-view mirror when it falls off.

Uh, oh. That’s not where you’re supposed to be.

I have lived in Austin, Texas since August of 2011. Promptly upon moving here my rear-view mirror fell off, and again it fell off last week. I think it’s because the temperature here is triple digits most of the summer and the glue melted.

When I bought my car in 1996 it had 3 miles on it when I drove off the lot. So when I say I know everything that has happened to this car, I mean it. It’s a great car, {actually her name is Luna} this makes the third time her rear-view mirror has fallen off, and twice in less than a year.

I had to get down to business, so I headed to my local hardware store {I try to shop local when I can} for some supplies.

Things you will need:

  • Extreme rear-view mirror attachment kit $5.99 {do not just get super glue, trust me it won’t last as long}
  • A Torx Screwdriver $5.97 {I already had this from when I upgraded my iMac memory}
  • Sharpie – not pictured, I figured you guys knew what that looked like
  • Razor blade {not in a razor razor, but the flat kind from a box cutter} – also not pictured

The guy at Northwest Hardware was very helpful and even showed me how to remove the little thingie that needs to be affixed to the glass so the mirror WON’T FALL OFF.

READ THE DIRECTIONS! Your kit may be different than mine.

Step 1. Use the Torx {my mirror used the T-15} to loosen the screw that holds the metal thingie that you are going to stick to the window. Once it’s out tighten the screw back so you don’t lose it.

Step 2. Use the sharpie to draw a smiley face or up arrow so you know which side and direction to put the metal thingie back on the window. Basically you want the thingie stuck on the window and the mirror piece to slide down on it, almost like it is hanging. If it is upside down it will fall OFF.

Step 3. Use a sharpie or crayon to mark the spot on the outside of the window where you are going to put the metal thingie back. Usually there is some junk stuck inside the window, just mark that spot {this was Scott’s idea, because he’s a genius, you’ll thank me later}.

Step 4. {Scott did steps 4, 5 and 6 with for me because we did it 11:30 at night and one of us needed to hold the flashlight} Use a razor to scrape off the junk on the inside of the window and off the metal thingie.

Step 5. The kit comes with some cleaner which is actually primer so you don’t want to skip this step. Clean the window and the metal thingie and let dry according to package directions {I think it was 2 minutes}.

Step 6. Use the ‘glue’ to place ONE drop onto the metal thingie and then using the outline you made earlier {thank me now} place the metal thingie on that spot with the smiley face or up arrow facing you, right side up. Try not to move it around as it makes a seal. Let dry overnight.

Step 6. The next morning re-attach your rear-view mirror by sliding it on the thingie you stuck to the glass last night. Tighten the screw using the Torx screwdriver and you’re all set.

Back in business!

Voila!

Yes, technically you can still drive without a rear-view mirror, but it was hard the past few days. I mean Luna is brilliant when it comes to navigating the freeways, but I have to merge and the rear-view mirror sure comes in handy for extra checking.

Scott says that I shouldn’t move my mirror around so I can peek at my lip-gloss or to see if I have mascara or eyeliner running down my face, because it makes the bond with mirror weaker and that’s why it fell off in the first place. I told him I don’t like the other mirror because it blocks my view when I’m driving.

Since he’s usually right, I’m in training to use my visor mirror only when Luna is stopped.

Wish me and Luna luck with the new mirror, Happy Wednesday everyone!

