Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have been using an Android smart phone for 2 years, but have yet make the move to the iPhone. Sometimes I felt left out of that scene.

After receiving an iPad2 for Christmas last year I have joined the Apple wagon. I still use my Android phone for talking and texting, my iMac for blogging and longer emails, and my Dell laptop for photoshop (working on getting it for my iMac but I need to get more ram, so that is on hold for a bit). I find I am using my iPad as my everyday device for social media engagement, short emails, and games.

Here is a list of my top 10 iPad apps. This list does not include apps for Twitter, Facebook, games and email which I use everyday, but focuses on other useful apps.

1. Read it later Free

Price: free

What does it do? It lets you save things on the web so that you can access it later on any device. Webpages, articles, blogposts…To begin you register and install Read it Later to your bookmarks (they walk you through this process).

I use Read it Later on my iMac and Dell through Firefox browser, my Android phone (it has it’s own app there too) and my iPad, they sync beautifully. For an example if I am on my phone and see an interesting link on Twitter I can post it to my ‘read it later’, sync from my iPad and read it there next week. You can create tags for the articles on your list and search within those tags. When you no longer want the article you can hit the ‘mark as read’ and you can delete. Easy peasy.

Read it Later

2. Zite

Price: free

What does it do? This is an online magazine that you create. The app can take information from your Read It Later account and use the information to make a magazine or you can pick topics that interest you. Each time I open this I find new and interesting stuff. From an entry (news article, blogpost…) you can post it to Twitter, save it to your Read it Later, email it, or click a like/dislike button. Clicking the like/dislike helps zite get to know you better and each time you come back it is like a magazine just for you.

zite

3. Pinterest

Price: free

What does it do? It lets you “pin” all the things you like on the web onto a virtual pin board. This app is really for then iPhone but works great on my iPad. When pinning items you have the opportunity to post a link to your Twitter and or Facebook feed all at once. I do have my accounts linked, but I do not post everything I pin to Twitter and Facebook. It has to be something really special to get that achievement.

My favorite thing about Pinterest is the visual aspect. It is like a snapshot of all the things I love and I do not have to remember the name of a website, or recipe. I look through my pins and find the picture of what I’m looking for and the link is right there.

I have board for recipes which I use often in the kitchen, I just stand my iPad up and make the meal from there.

You need to have Pinterest account to use this app, and you need an invitation to join. Let me know in the comments if you need an invite, and I’ll hook you up.

Pinterest

Pinterest

4. Red Stamp

Price: free

What does it do? With this app you can make and send cards for any occasion. It uses the photos on your device and creates these cool and quick looks. You can send them as a email or print them on your computer. They have all holidays plus congratulations and thank you’s.

This year I made our Christmas cards with Red Stamp. My husband and I got married September and I wanted to make our Christmas cards as I love to design things. I chose this app instead, mainly for the time factor, and was able to add our own text which made it a bit more personal then I easily sent it to the people on my contact list.

Red Stamp

Red Stamp

5. Instagram

Price: free

What does it do? Makes you look like a pro at taking pictures. There are many filters and effects that make your dull picture into a bright shinny one. I don’t have an iPhone so I was excited to join in this avenue of photo sharing.

This is a picture I took with my iPad’s camera. The original was dark and you could not see the colors of the flowers, they looked like blobs. I put the picture in my Instagram app and added a filter, and bam I got this.

From the app you can save or post to Twitter and Facebook.

Instagram

Instagram

6. iDraw

Price: $8.99

What does it do? It is similar to Photoshop in there are layers. You can edit photos, add text, and basically create anything you can come up with.When you are done you can save the image to your camera roll so you can email it, upload it, the uses are endless.

Truth is I haven’t used this app as much as I thought. The concept is great, I just need to get in there and dig in.

iDraw

iDraw

7. Simple Grocery List

Price: free

What does it do? It’s called Simple Grocery List but you can make a list for anything you like. You begin by entering the items you wish to buy, once at the store you check off the items in your cart as you shop. There is a feature to show what is unchecked at the top. That way you never get to the checkout and realize you forgot the milk.

I love this list because I tend to buy the same items when I shop, so I can save the list and modify as need to. Plus I just set my iPad on my purse and can read the list easily while shopping.

Bonus tip: I can email the entire shopping list to my husband.

Simple Grocery List

Simple Grocery List

8. Snapseed

Price: $4.99

What does it do? It has photo effects, but they are highly adjustable. Some of the effects include tilt-shift, frames, grunge, and center focus. You use your fingers to place the effect and then refine it. The app itself has some great examples and helps walk you through the process. The photos are saved in your camera roll.

Snapseed

Snapseed

9. NPR

Price: free

What does it do? Let’s you keep up on the latest news, music and culture. I am not a big news hound. There was a time where all the news I received was through my Facebook news feed. Seriously this is an upgrade. Each time I open this app there is something new and when I scroll left/right I can see the articles and a short blurb. When I click on the image the article opens to a full page where I can read it. It is very user friendly and if your an npr lover you’ll love this.

npr

npr

10. Pandora

Price: free

What dose it do? If you already have a Pandora account, just log in and your ready to go. It is exactly as if you are listening on your computer. If you do not have an account, no worries, you can sign up through the app. It’s pretty genius the way it works. You tell Pandora a song, artist, genre, or composer. Once you have created your station Pandora will the play music plus new music similar to what you requested.  It is a great way to learn about new artists. Plus on the iPad you can be listening to Pandora while the cover is closed. Perfect for me as I get ready in the morning, it avoids hairspray landing on the screen.

Pandora

Pandora

I also use my wordpress iPad app for on the go posts.

What are your favorite iPad/iPhone apps?

Next up all the games I love to waste time on!

*All images are screen shots of the apps on my iPad.

